Wei-Chung Chen · Violin

Soloist Exam ONLINE Class of Prof. Nachum Erlich
Wei-Chung Chen

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Violin sonata B flat major KV 454
1. Largo - Allegro
2. Andante
3. Allegretto

Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
Fantasy in C major D 934
1. Andante molto
2. Allegretto
3. Andantino
4. Allegro vivace

Niccolò Paganini (1782–1840)
Introduction and Variations on  "Nel cor più non mi sento"
for violin solo on a theme by Giovanni Paisiello

Wei-Chung Chen, violin                     
Rie Kibayashi, piano

Wei-Chung Chen was born in Changhua/Taiwan in 1992. He has been studying with Prof. Nachum Erlich at the Karlsruhe University of Music since 2012. He completed his Bachelor's degree there in 2016, and went on to study for his Master's degree. In addition, he received private lessons with Prof. Ulf Hoelscher. In February 2019, he was admitted to the soloist exam course at the Karlsruhe University of Music with Prof. Nachum Erlich. In addition to his studies, he attended master classes with Vesselin Paraschkevov, Frederieke Saeijs, Shizuka Ishikawa, Fang Lei, Sigiswald Kuijken, Nicolas Chumachenko, Yin Li, Erika Geldsetzer, Prof. Ulf Hoelscher He performs extensively as a soloist and chamber musician both inside and outside the Hochschule. In 2013-2018 he was a member of the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, and since August 2020 he has been the member of the PAUL-HINDEMITH-ORCHESTERAKADEMIE of the Frankfurt Museum Society.   Wei-Chung Chen is a multiple prize winner of national and international competitions. He won 2nd prize at the "National Student Music Competition" in Tainan (Taiwan) in 2009. In November 2018 he won 1st prize at the International Competition Gianluca Campochiaro in Italy, and in 2019 June 4th prize at the International Competition Padova. Since 2017 he has been playing the Januarius Gagliano from 1743, on loan from the Chi-Mei Foundation in Taiwan.  

Eventtype: ONLINE
20. July · 11:45 AM
Live Stream

Live stream Concert broadcast from the Genuit Hall

Live stream