Xiaorui Seina Ao · Viola

Soloist exam · Class Prof. Johannes Lüthy
Die Bratscherin Xiaorui Seina Ao

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Sinfonia concertante for violine and viola in E flat major K. 364
I. Allegro maestoso
II. Andante
III. Presto

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
from Suite N° 5 for Violoncello solo in c minor BWV1011
edited for viola solo
I. Prélude
II. Allemande

Toru Takemitsu (1930–1996)
"A Bird came down the Walk"
for viola accompanied by piano

Garth Knox (*1956)
Viola Spaces N° 4
“Nine fingers”

Kristin Schorr violin
Yun-Hsiang Huang piano
Takuhiro Murayama piano


Xiaorui Ao (Seina) was born in Inner Mongolia (China) in 1992 and received violin lessons from the age of five. She completed her bachelor's degree at Minzu University China in the viola class of Honghua Kim and then continued her studies (master's degree and chamber music) at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe with Prof. Johannes Lüthy. Since 2018, she has been studying viola with Prof. Johannes Lüthy in the soloist exam course. During her studies, she gained orchestral experience as an intern, first with the Staatsorchester Mainz, and later with the Hessisches Staatsorchester Wiesbaden. She has won numerous national and international competitions, including second prize at the Singapore Zhongxin Competition, second prize at the Beacon-Stanislaus International Competition in China and third prize at the 1st Xinghai Viola Competition in China. In addition to her solo activities, Xiaorui Ao devotes herself intensively to chamber music.

Kristin Schorr, born in 1993 in Fulda, grew up in Regensburg, where she received her first violin lessons at the age of five and was accepted into the class of Conrad von der Goltz in 2004 as a young student of the Bavarian Early Music Development Class. She studied instrumental pedagogy at the Hochschule für Kirchenmusik Regensburg from 2011 and, after successfully completing her studies, added a bachelor's degree in orchestral music at the Hochschule für Musik Saar with Hans-Peter Hofmann. From 2017 to 2021, she completed an artistic master's degree at the Nuremberg University of Music with Valerie Rubin. She gained orchestral experience in her youth, including as concertmaster of the Bavarian State Youth Orchestra and later the Regensburg University Orchestra. She completed several orchestral internships during her studies, e.g. in the Philharmonic Orchestra Regensburg and as academist of the Hessian State Orchestra Wiesbaden.

Yun-Hsiang Huang was born in Taoyuan (Taiwan) in 1992. He received piano lessons from the age of four. Already in his childhood his way led him regularly to Germany, whereupon he decided at the age of sixteen to move permanently to Germany. He completed his bachelor's studies at the Freiburg University of Music in the piano class of Tibor Szász and continued his master's studies at the Karlsruhe University of Music in the piano class of Prof. Kaya Han.  He studied in the concert exam at the Hochschule für Musik Mainz in the piano class of Sae-Nal Lea Kim. For the winter semester 2019, he received an appointment as a teacher at the Mainz University of Music.

Takuhiro Murayama was born in Tokyo. He came to Germany at the age of eighteen and studied piano at the conservatories of Munich, Essen, and Karlsruhe with Gerhard Oppitz, Boris Bloch, and Kalle Randalu. He is active as a solo pianist, but also as a chamber musician. Since 2000 Takuhiro Murayama has been a lecturer at the Karlsruhe University of Music. Since 2004 he teaches piano and music theory at the Badisches Konservatorium.

16. July · 06:15 PM
Live Stream

Live Stream

Concert broadcast from the Genuit Saal