Laureate and anniversary concert

25 years Dr. Hermann Büttner Piano Competition: Piano and Violin
Schloss Gottesaue

Amy Beach (1867-1944)  Ah love, but a day! op. 9 Nr. 44 No. 2, text: Robert Browning (1812-1889)
Richard Strauss (1864-1949)  Befreit op. 39 N5. 4, text: Richard Dehmel (1863-1920)
Morgen! op. 27 Nr. 4, text: John Henry Mackay (1864-1933)
Yukari Fukui soprano                                     
Yuan Ma piano
Speech Prof. Dr. Matthias Wiegandt - Rector
Prize winners of this year's competition: violin and piano

2nd prize
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
from the Violin Sonata No. 2 in A major op. 100
II Andante tranquillo - Vivace
III Allegretto grazioso
Yung-Ning Chang violin
Zhongzhi Sun piano

1st prize
César Franck (1822-1890)
from the Violin Sonata in A major
III Recitativo-Fantasia: Ben moderato - Largamento con fantasia
IV Allegretto poco mosso
Adrian Kratzert violin
WooRim Lee piano

Part II
Grand Prize Winner of the 2022 Competition - Piano Solo

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)
Prelude and Fugue op. 35 No.1
Soojung- Daria Kim                                     
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Ballade No. 2 in B minor
JiHun Hong      
Maurica Ravel (1875-1937)                                    
from „Gaspar de la Nuit“
Matteo Weber                                             
Edward Elgar (1857-1937)                                    
from „Enigma Variations“ op. 36                      
Introduction: Thema
Variation 1: C.A.E                 
Variation 14: E.D.U (Finale)

Nikolai Kapustin (1937-2020)                                 
From 8 Concert Etudes op. 40 No. 1 Prelude
Toshiki Esau                                         
Mack Wilberg (*1955)
Carmen Fantasy for two pianos and four pianists
Soojung-Daria Kim
JiHun Hong
Matteo Weber
Toshiki Esau


June 4, 2023: Dr. Hermann Büttner Piano Competition 2023 decided

The Dr. Hermann Büttner Piano Competition, which has existed since 1998 and has been sponsored by the Adler Büttner Foundation since 2017, was announced this year for piano and violin. Students of the Karlsruhe University of Music were eligible to participate. On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the competition, a total prize sum of 20,000 euros was awarded this year. The two duos awarded a promotional prize will each receive 2,500 euros. They are Jooahn Lee, violin, with Eunhye Jung, piano, and Jie Wan, violin, with Yue Zou on piano. The second prize of 5,000 euros is awarded to Yung-Ning Chang, violin, with Zhongzhi Sun at the piano. The first prize of 10,000 euros goes to the duo with Adrian Kratzert, violin, and WooRim Lee, piano.
The winners of the first and second prizes will perform works by Johannes Brahms and César Franck at the Wolfgang Rihm Forum of the Karlsruhe University of Music as part of the prizewinner and anniversary concert on June 28.

The jury, chaired by Dr. Hermann Büttner, included Francesco Monopoli, professor of piano at the Conservatorio "Niccolò Piccinni" di Bari, Maria-Elisabeth Lott, professor of violin at the Hochschule für Musik Detmold, and the former chairman of the Friends of the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe and former SWR2 chamber music editor Dr. h.c. Hans Hachmann.

Logo Adler Büttner Stiftung
Eventtype: Solo- und Kammermusik · Solo and Chamber Music
28. June · 07:30 PM
CampusOne · Wolfgang-Rihm-Forum

Am Schloss Gottesaue 7 · 76131 Karlsruhe



Admission free.
Tickets at entrance.